Congratulations to the Winners from the 2012 SATW Award Ceremony

Congratulations to the Winners from the 2012 SATW Award Ceremony

As the SATW 2012 Award Ceremony wrapped up last week, awards were presented to some very special people. We would like to take the time to congratulate each one of them for their efforts and accomplishments. Here are photos from the event featuring those accepting the awards at the ceremony.


Lowell Thomas Award

Liliane Opsomer (SATW Foundation Secretary), Mary Lu Abbott (SATW Foundation Administrator), Barbara Ramsay Orr (Silver and Bronze Awards-Cruise Travel), Jill Schensul (Grand Award-Lowell Thomas Travel Journalist of the Year), David Molyneaux (SATW Foundation President) and Spud Hilton (Bronze Award-Newspapers under 350,000 circulation).



Muster Photo Competition

Nori Muster, Michael Ventura (Muster Awards Co-Chair), David Noyes (Bronze People Portrait Category and Honorable Mentions Cultural and People General Categories), Laura Watilo Blake (Bronze Action Category), Donnie Sexton (Gold Single Subject Portfolio; Bronze Cultural Category), Lee Foster (Silver People Portrait Category), David Swanson (Honorable Mention Animal Category), Annette Thompson (Muster Awards Co-Chair) and Bill Muster.



Phoenix Awards

Karyl Leigh Barnes (representing Namibia and winner N/a’an Ku Sê Foundation, Windhoek, Namibia), Derek Klaus (Kansas City Convention & Visitor Association, MO), Ida Becker (representing the Charleston Area and winner Charleston City Market, Charleston, SC, Bruce Meyer (nominator of the Union Station, Kansas City, MO), Mary Lu Abbott (nominator of Joe & Lanna Duncan, Fort Davis, TX), Diana Lambdin Meyer (nominator of the Union Station, Kansas City, MO) and Nancy Hamilton (representing Lee County, Florida and winner J.N. “Ding” Darling NWR & Wildlife Society, Sanibel Island, FL )


Thanks to everyone who came out to Indiana for the 2012 SATW Conference. You’re the ones who made it a success. Congratulations again to the lucky award winners of 2012!